Fellows announcement

To celebrate and publicize the important contributions made by physiologists to science and health, the IUPS Academy of Physiology was established in 2021.

IUPS is delighted to announce its inaugural list of Honorary Fellows and Fellows, to our Academy. The Academy represents the diversity and excellence of worldwide physiology and consists of IUPS Honorary Fellows (*Hon FIUPS*) and Fellows (*FIUPS*).

Honorary Fellows, **Hon.** *FIUPS*: Our highest honour to those physiologists who have been awarded worldwide recognition and acclaim.

Professor Peter C Agre, MD, Nobel Laureate, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA.

Professor Dr. Stefan W. Hell, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c Erwin Neher, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany

Fellows, *FIUPS*: Awarded to those who have made exceptional contributions to physiological Sciences, in the form of original discovery, sustained excellent contributions to scholarship, or (exceptionally) those who in other ways have rendered a conspicuous service to physiology.

Akinori Noma Japan USA **Allen Cowley** Sudan **Amal Saeed** Nigeria **Antony Ebeigbe Armin Kurtz** Germany Barbara Cannon Sweden **Bill Sessa USA** Dario DiFrancesco Italy **Denis Noble** UK **Frances Ashcroft** UK **Gavin Norton** S. Africa Haluk Kelestimur Turkey S. Korea Hee-Suo Chin **Ingrid Fleming** Germany

Denmark Jens Leipziger Kamil Javorka Slovakia S. Africa Kathryn Myburgh Laszlo Hunyady Hungary **Maria Jose C dos Santos** Brazil Holland Marian Joëls **Ole Petersen** UK **Pieter Carmeliet** Belgium Ramón Latorre Chile Sandra Davidge Canada USA **Shu Chien Sue Bodine** USA India Sumantra Chattarji **Tamara Rosenbaum** Mexico New Zealand **Tony Macknight**

Yasushi Miyashita Japan

Congratulations to all our Fellows. - Their expertise and talents in our Academy will bring great benefit to IUPS, and physiology worldwide.

June 2021

Press release – the International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS)

announces its inaugural Hon. Fellows and Fellows June 2021.

The International Union of Physiological Sciences (IUPS) is a Not-for-Profit collective of physiological societies, founded in 1953. https://www.iups.org/iups/

It is the only organization to represent worldwide physiology. It gives physiologists a global voice and facilitates meetings and transnational initiatives. IUPS especially supports young scientists, for example by offering travel awards to international meetings.

IUPS has a 60-strong membership from national societies, across all continents. It works to champion physiology without borders and to remove political barriers from physiologists interacting.

To celebrate and publicize the important contributions made by physiologists to science and health, the IUPS Academy of Physiology was established in 2021.

IUPS is delighted to announce its inaugural list of Honorary Fellows and Fellows, to our Academy. The Academy represents the diversity and excellence of worldwide physiology and consists of IUPS Honorary Fellows (*Hon FIUPS*) and Fellows (*FIUPS*).

Honorary Fellows, *Hon. FIUPS:* Our highest honour to those physiologists who have been awarded worldwide recognition and acclaim.

Professor Peter C Agre, MD, Nobel Laureate, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health, USA.

Professor Dr. Stefan W. Hell, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Germany

Professor Dr. Dr. h.c Erwin Neher, Nobel Laureate, Max Planck Institute for Biophysical Chemistry, Germany

Fellows, *FIUPS*: Awarded to those who have made exceptional contributions to physiological Sciences, in the form of original discovery, sustained excellent contributions to scholarship, or (exceptionally) those who in other ways have rendered a conspicuous service to physiology.

Japan Akinori Noma **USA Allen Cowley Amal Saeed** Sudan **Antony Ebeigbe** Nigeria Germany **Armin Kurtz Barbara Cannon** Sweden **USA Bill Sessa** Dario DiFrancesco Italy **Denis Noble** UK UK **Frances Ashcroft Gavin Norton** S. Africa Haluk Kelestimur Turkey **Hee-Suo Chin** S. Korea **Ingrid Fleming** Germany Jens Leipziger Denmark Kamil Javorka Slovakia **Kathryn Myburgh** S. Africa Laszlo Hunyady Hungary Maria Jose C dos Santos Brazil Marian Joëls Holland Ole Petersen UK **Pieter Carmeliet** Belgium Ramón Latorre Chile Sandra Davidge Canada Shu Chien **USA Sue Bodine** USA Sumantra Chattarji India Tamara Rosenbaum Mexico **Tony Macknight** New Zealand

Yasushi Miyashita Japan

Congratulations to all our Fellows. - Their expertise and talents in our Academy will bring great benefit to IUPS, and physiology worldwide. There will be an annual election, limited to 30 Fellows, maintaining the immensely high standard set by our inaugural Fellows.

Professor Julie Chan – President of IUPS. June 2021

Please contact Professor Susan Wray for any further details: s.wray@liv.ac.uk